With help from two players from schools in Fontana, Team 1 was victorious in the 2nd Annual Inland Valley All-Star Volleyball Classic on Dec. 4 at the Fontana A.B. Miller High School gymnasium.

Team 1 triumphed by a 3-1 margin over Team 2 in the match involving some of the top senior players in San Bernardino County.

Juvelina Rodriguez of Fontana High School received the Leadership Award for Team 1, and Veronica Ramirez of Miller made several good plays at the net.

"I was kind of nervous in the beginning, and I didn't know what it was going to be like because I didn't know (the other players)," Rodriguez said, "but it turned out really good. It was fun and intense."

She said she was surprised to receive the Leadership Award.

"I didn't think I was going to get it because I was the libero, the smallest one," she said with a smile, "but I'm happy about it."

Ramirez was very happy to be playing on her home court with the winning team.

"It was very competitive; everyone was really good," she said. "It was the greatest experience I've ever had playing volleyball."

Other members of the Team 1 roster included Diana Maile (Redlands East Valley), Kacy Hele (Granite Hills), Kenzie Koerber (Chino Hills), Courtney Chew (Apple Valley), Ryley Moore (Sultana), Claire Kovensky (Citrus Valley), Simone Bliss (Claremont), Bria Beale (Rancho Cucamonga), Marissa Montoya (Glendora), Hailey Hubbard (Big Bear), Makaila Montello (Chino), and Jordin Bishop (Ayala).

Summit High School's Shaiann Palos was a member of Team 2.

Other Team 2 participants included Sahara Martinez (Bonita), Ashlynn Ritter (Ontario Christian), Victoria Duarte (Alta Loma),

Kayla Fisher (Yucaipa), Nicole Omwanghe (Claremont), Roni Rea Lopez (Grand Terrace), Brooklyn Wilson (Cajon), Alexis Cardoza (Chino Hills), Natalie Escher (Redlands), Tylia Dixon (Don Lugo), Telanni Childs (Upland), Natalie Hadder (Yucaipa), and Leslie Paredes (Ontario).

The match was coordinated by IE Sports Net along with John Romagnoli, the basketball coach at Miller. Sponsors included Fontana Mayor Acquanetta Warren, Fontana City Councilmember Michael Tahan, and the Fontana Police Officers Association.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.